Bullet Journaling: Three Months In

Bullet Journaling_ Three Months In

It’s time.

There are thousands of bullet journals out there. The bujo (bullet journal) community is vast, and every person has their own way of doing it. The community is part of the reason why I gave this system a go; everyone is so incredibly supportive.

For those who don’t know, Ryder Carroll came up with the basics of the system. It’s an incredibly simple concept: write a series of tasks with bullets. Change those bullets to show if the task has moved or been completed. Use a series of dedicated lists for things that last past a week or a month. It’s what people do with that simple system that makes the bullet journal incredible. Planners have a certain degree of inflexibility, but bullet journals are made completely by you. You have all the freedom in the world!

So I had bought a two year Moleskine weekly notebook before I even heard about bullet journaling – and it was a mess. I had a system, sort of.

2016-02-02 15.49.54
Look at this travesty. October was a bad month.

The thing about this Moleskine is that it’s already divided up. It has a section for months, yearly spread of events, and a timetable spread for the basic week. It also has a page for every week every month, and opposite it has a blank lined page.

So, not wanting to spend more money on a blank journal, I built my system around my Moleskine and I don’t know if I’d change it. To be fair, I’m the kind of person who has a separate journal for everything. I exclusively plan goals, reflect, and write daily/weekly things in this bullet journal. I have a different journal for my gratitude log, a whole journal for my brain dump because I need a whole journal for that, a tiny small Moleskine for writing stories, and a tinier notebook for writing down my lifelong goals.

2016-02-02 15.54.26
Is it excessive? Maybe. Do I love it? Yes.
The first page of my bullet journal has a decorated header. This month I’m also tracking my postings for the #rockyourhandwriting and #planwithmechallenge challenges on instagram. The inside of each day’s section is pretty much a free-for-all since I’ve got a lot of random things happening with school. Generally though, I’ll write events for that day on the first line in purple ink. After that the format stays the same, but I include a weekly focus item at the top. This can be anything from “feel better” to “finish my paper!”. It’s simple and works well.

2016-02-02 15.51.12
My favorite bit are my monthly worksheets. The first side page of the month I split in half. The top half are goals that I must accomplish by the end of the month. I only allow myself to not complete two of them. The second half goes to tasks that aren’t dependent on a particular day and might get lost if I stuck them on Friday the 5th, but couldn’t get to it until the 26th. These are general, non-time sensitive things.

2016-02-02 15.52.37.jpg
The second side page has two tiny dedicated bits at the top, for packages I’m waiting on (thanks TinyRayofSunshine!) and donations that I want to make this month to charities. The whole bottom of the page I leave empty for whatever comes up that month. This month I’m doing InCoWriMo (a write-a-letter-a-day challenge) so it worked perfectly as a spread for tracking who I’m writing to.

2016-02-02 15.53.01.jpg

The third blank is where I keep my habit tracker. I was very, very hesitant about this when I first got into bullet journaling, but BohoBerry convinced me and now I couldn’t function as well without it. It’s amazing, at the end of the month, to see how rarely I go to the gym and how often I practice my handwriting XD. It’s also nice to review at night all the things you accomplished during the day.

2016-02-02 15.53.20.jpg

2016-02-02 15.53.14.jpg

Both my January and February habit trackers for reference 🙂

The last page is dedicated wholly to review for both my bullet journal and my life. I only started journaling in December, so I’m trying out a lot of new tools and methods. This is where I brainstorm for that. I also look at my habit tracker and my goals for this month/2016 and make a status update on how far I am with the goal.

2016-02-02 15.53.34.jpg

I know not a lot of people use Moleskines for their bujos but I love my system so much 🙂 Let me know any ideas you have or if you use alternative bujo methods!

Other Resources:

Bullet Journal Junkies

A Facebook group with tons of lovely people posting ideas, helping each other out, and developing the bujo philosophy

Bullet Journal Pen Pals

A Facebook group where people interested in bullet journaling sign up to be pen pals with each other

Pretty Prints and Paper

Jessica does both calligraphy and bullet journaling. She’s got a really different style

Passion Themed Life

Kacheri puts lots of lovely doodles in her bujo and runs the #ptldoodles challenge

Leave a Reply

