Dreams of Shreds and Tatters Review

2016-04-16 12.13.31

Author: Amanda Downum

Pages: 256

You can find the book here on Amazon.

I picked this book up on a whim at the library and utterly consumed it in two days flat, even with school and work. I couldn’t focus on anything else. This book is easily my favorite book of 2016 so far, and I immediately bought it after finishing it and restarted it the moment it shipped in.

The basic premise revolves around a Lovecraftian plot with an alternative, astronomical dream-world which contains an ancient danger to humanity.

I loved so much about this book, but here are the main points:
1) The language is utterly beautiful. Downum paints a vibrant color palate of blacks, greys, yellows, and deep blues into the background of space and cityscapes alike. There were multiple moments when I had to pause and reread a sentence because it was just so beautiful. My highest praise to Downum on this: she really knows how to make a sentence a work of art.

2) I was thrilled to have characters of multiple sexualities (including an asexual character!) whose sexuality was present but not the entirety of their personality. It was refreshing, diverse cast. Everyone was unique, thoroughly fleshed out.

3) I am an enormous fan of Lovecraft fiction, even with all its flaws and tropes. But Downum writes it like it should be. She doesn’t sacrifice language, character, or plot for the thrill of the monster. I was captivated on the edge of my

I’ve seen lots of complaints about this book for people being confused or elements remaining unresolved. These are fair: there are lots of subplots and the language is beautiful, not conversational, so it isn’t the easiest to follow. And it’s not for everyone, of course. But if you enjoy science fiction taken to a next level, writing with an almost Van Gogh color style to the language, then this is the book for you.  (It’s so good!! Read it!!)

Leave a Reply

