Natural History of Dragons Review

2016-04-23 13.35.30-2.jpg

Let’s take a moment to appreciate just how gorgeous the cover is. I’ve been eyeing this one for a long time and when the library finally got the copy in I snatched it up.

(Just as a side note, lots of these pictures in the future are gonna be library books. I don’t have the money right now to buy lots of new books.)

This book’s concept is incredibly clever: a Victorian-esque memoir of Lady Trent, a fictional naturalist whose lifelong fascination with dragons is the focus of the book. The story covers her early life and her venture into Vystrana to study dragons.

I’d highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys an old-fashioned read that will pull them into Victorian times. Lots of steampunk books try to do this but overreach with lots of gadgetry and language that goes over the top. Even though the entire book was written in a formal, older voice, I never felt like it was stuffy or contrived. And even though the book is called ‘A Natural History of Dragons’, it’s much more a book about Lady Trent’s life and how she overcomes her personal barriers to pursue her true love of dragons.

I will admit that the story did go slowly at first, since it followed chronologically from her youth to the Vystrana voyage. The main conflict all occurs once her team goes to Vystrana and so the first few chapters of the book are solely backstory and exposition. I normally hate this in books, but I forgave it because Brennan writes Lady Trent’s voice so convincingly. This is the kind of book I would read in the fall, sipping rum, while in front of the fireplace in my library with a dog at my feet.

I’m really excited to read the next book in this series. I’ll keep you posted when I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

